Minnesota Government Finance Officers Association

Promoting excellence and leadership in the government finance profession

MnGFOA Baker Tilly Scholarship Program - State Conference

Starting in 2011, the Minnesota Government Finance Officers Association (MNGFOA), along with Baker Tilly (formerly Springsted Incorporated), will award a scholarship to two MNGFOA members for the purpose of funding their registration to the annual state-wide conference.

The scholarship program honors Springsted‘s founder, Osmon R. Springsted, a pioneer in the field of municipal finance. His mission was simple: to provide expert, independent advice to public issuers that needed to borrow money for capital projects. He strove for excellence in the level of service he provided and encouraged others to do the same.

The exchange of ideas, comradery and plans for the future of government finance that occur annually at the MNGFOA conference makes this scholarship program a fitting tribute to Mr. Springsted.

Tuition/Fee Scholarship
The scholarship will pay the registration for two candidates. It does not include coverage of items such as lodging, mileage or other out-of-pocket costs not covered by the registration fee.

All active members of the MNGFOA in good standing are eligible for this scholarship. Any qualifying member may receive one Springsted scholarship per lifetime.

Scholarship Guideline
The applicant should hold a current position in a state of local government, school district, special district, special authority or regional/metropolitan council. The position may be elected or appointed. The applicant must be a member in good standing. It is preferred, but not mandatory, that an applicant have a minimum of two years experience in a finance position including some mid- or top-level management experience in government. Individuals who have been members for at least the past two years are especially encouraged to apply.

The applicant is expected to serve on a MNGFOA committee for a least one year immediately following acceptance of the scholarship. Determination of the two annual scholarship recipients will be made by the MNGFOA Board using the following criteria:

  • Active member in good standing
  • Financial need
  • Experience
  • Agreement to commit to future service
  • Other criteria the Board may desire

Applications are accepted from June 1st through August 16th of each year. Members may apply for themselves, or nominate another member. Scholarships will be awarded in August.


 Click Here for the MNGFOA Baker Tilly Scholarship Program Application Form